not a muffin fan

I pride myself in not being a picky eater.  There are very few things I won’t eat, like insects, reptiles, blue cheese, goat cheese.  There are plenty of things I don’t like, such as eggplants, olives, watermelon.  But on occasions, I do eat the things I don’t like.  For example, if I was at a friend’s house for dinner and she served me moussaka or pizza with olives, I will eat it rather than picking them out.  I believe in trying things repeatedly and hope that one day, I will learn to like it.

For this reason, I often buy muffins for breakfast-on-the-go.  I thought that if I try enough of flavours, I will eventually discover The Muffin of my Dreams.  I bought a Raspberry Yogurt Muffin from Second Cup yesterday and I ate the bottom half of it for breakfast.  I didn’t think it was all that special but it wasn’t bad I guess.  This morning, I had the muffin top on my way to work.  It didn’t taste any different from yesterday’s muffin bottom – it was still very much “Meh!”.

That’s when it hit me: I don’t like muffins all that much, regardless of which flavour I pick.  It just never hit the spot!!  So why do I continue to try and convince myself that I like muffins?  I don’t know, but I do know this: I will not buy another muffin again unless I absolutely have to.  Muffins are a bit gross and it’s a waste of my money if I’m not enjoying it.

Now that I got the muffin thing out of my chest, I can go to sleep.  Once again, I’m falling asleep at the computer.  I apologize in advance if this post makes no sense.

Leave a Reply

